Things to know before you move to South Africa

Things to know before you move to South AfricaHave you been considering relocation from the United States to the African Continent? One of the most popular countries, where people usually decide to move is South Africa! Does that sounds like an appealing idea to you? Would you like to learn some important and interesting things about South Africa? If yes, continue reading this article! South Africa is a beautiful country located at the very south of the African Continent, hence its name. It has a mild climate and lots of popular tourist destinations and attractions. However, it is very different from what you’re used to in the United States. There are so many new things that you will get to discover and experience once you settle down. Let’s go through some of the things that you should know before you move to South Africa!

Different languages, climate zones and other interesting things

        First of all, it is important to note that South Africa is an extremely large country! It has a coastline of 1,739 miles in length! That’s one of the biggest coastlines for a single country in the world! Luckily, this also means that

Things to know before you move to South Africa

it has a myriad of beaches, all of which are beautiful and a perfect location for anyone! South Africa neighbors the following countries: Namibia, Botswana and Zimbabwe on the north, Mozambique and Swaziland on the northeast and east. It also completely surrounds the Kingdom of Lesotho. By its land area, South Africa represents the 25th largest country in the world! Moving to South Africa means that you’ll also get to know people from different races and ethnic backgrounds. Almost 80% of the population of South Africa is of Sub-Saharan African ancestry. They divide themselves into various ethnic groups! The remainder of the population is of European, Asian and multiracial ancestry.

Did you know that there are 11 different languages spoken in South Africa? That’s more than in any other country in the world! A smaller percentage of the population speaks different Bantu languages, and nine of these eleven languages have official statuses. Another very interesting fact about South Africa is that it actually has three different capitals, which is very rare nowadays. Pretoria serves as the executive capital, Cape Town is the legislative capital, and Bloemfontein is the judicial capital. However, the biggest and most populated city in South Africa is Johannesburg. South Africa can be divided into 9 separate provinces, which are:

  •         Eastern Cape
  •         Free State
  •         Gauteng
  •         KwaZulu-Natal
  •         Limpopo
  •         Mpumalanga
  •         North West
  •         Northern Cape
  •         Western Cape

When it comes to its climate, South Africa has a temperate climate, which is a very pleasant and suitable climate type. It is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean and the Indian Ocean, both of which significantly influence its climate! Because it is such a big country, South Africa has lots of smaller microclimates within its boundaries. These climatic zones range all the way from the extreme desert climate of the southern Namib, all the way to the exotic and lush subtropical climate in the eastern parts of the country. But, don’t worry, South Africa has snow as well! The Drakensberg Mountains offers skiing opportunities, but only during the winter months.

If you are interested in finding out more about other countries and what it takes to move and live there, visit My International Movers.